Top 50 Movies?

“Youth would be an ideal state if it came a little later in life.”

– Herbert Henry Asquith

 

It is difficult to convince my children that they want a nap, and equally difficult to convince my wife that I deserve a nap. Somehow, a result of the fall, I’m sure, our youthfulness is underappreciated when it is endured.

This venture began as an attempt to answer a challenge given me by an acquaintance of mine: To make a respectable list of the top 50 movies of all time. I failed quite miserably. My list hasn’t the capacity to ascend to the mere fringes of respectability. In fact, one may wonder whether I endeavored to fully understand the nature of the task. Alas, shame-faced though I may appear, I knew as I compiled my list that I was breaking the rules set before me.  

I must confess that I had a greater desire to divulge the titles of my favorite films than I had to actually calculate the depths of cinematic genius. I have never seen the “The Dark Knight”. Though I have been told it belongs on such a list, my lack of experience denies it’s inclusion. That is only one example, but I am sure many will grow impatient trying to recognize the titles set before them. Be that as it may, this is my list and I can give it no greater defense than to simply say, as Maui is so famous in his boasting, “you’re welcome!”

My favorite movies, most from my childhood and in an order which strives to defy logic, have been been submitted for your criticism.

 

  1. Good Will Hunting (1997) For a breakout role to be that powerful, I cannot help to put it on this list. (Yes, my top 50 list begins at #28, but I did that for you because I did not want you to get bored before you made it to #1). Those who have seen it know why it’s on the list; those who haven’t seen it really should.

 

  1. Empire Records (1995) – Good music (assuming the title is accurate), a young cast, most of whom went on to greater fame.

 

  1. Rover Dangerfield (1991) – “I’m in love with the dog next door.” A fun movie for the family, the soundtrack is phenomenal… for a cartoon with Rodney Dangerfield as the lead character… “I’d give up a bone for you.”

 

  1. A Simple Twist of Fate (1994) – Previous to this film, I believed comedians were only allowed to star in comedies. Steve Martin is brilliant in this heartwarming story.

 

  1. Pippi Longstocking (1988) – I’ll be honest, I remember very little about this, but my family just recently started reading the book, which is hilarious, and I highly recommend listening to the theme song.

 

  1. Mannequin (1987) – Before the modern-day challenge, this movie had mannequins, comedy, romance, and mediocre special effects! What else can you ask for?

 

  1. Losing Isaiah (1995) – Cuba Gooding Jr., Halle Berry, Samuel L. Jackson, Jessica Lange, and the near eradication of racism… why is this movie not on more top 50 lists?

 

21. Willow (1988) – Action, adventure, edge-of-your-seat fun, Val Kilmer and Warwick             Davis!

 

  1. A Walk to Remember (2002) – Another great soundtrack… (if you like Mandy Moore and Switchfoot). If you watch it for the doctrine you may find yourself disappointed at times, but the entertainment value compensates accordingly. I dare you not to cry.

 

  1. The Adventures of Baron Munchausen (1988) – At times slightly scary for young children, but an interestingly odd adventure that most kids, and the cool adults, will enjoy.

 

  1. The Ring (2002) – “Seven days…” This will be the only horror film on my list. I just don’t see the point of intentionally allowing oneself to be scared. But, what a thriller with a crazy plot twist.

 

  1. Jerry Maguire (1996) – “Show me the money!!” An academy award for Cuba Gooding Jr. “You complete me…” I just want to keep quoting this movie, but I’ll shut up. “Just shut up, you had me at ‘hello.’”

 

  1. Drop Dead Fred (1991) – This movie is not entirely appropriate for children and it really lowers the intelligence bar for adults. Had I not enjoyed it so much in my youth I would remove it completely from this list. Why is it ranked at #16? Remember, I am striving to defy logic in this particular enumeration. If you want a good laugh, and nothing else (other than Carrie Fisher in a supporting role) then this film is for you!

 

  1. Howl’s Moving Castle (2004) – Stunning artistry in this tale. The instrumental soundtrack is far above par, excellent voice-acting, and a decent story-line.

 

  1. The Lord of the Rings (2001, 2002, 2003) – I know I’m cheating by lumping all three together, but this is my list and I can do what I want. What do I need to say about these films? “The Return of the King” ran off with many Academy Awards… Kudos. Now, I really should go about the business of attempting to read the books.

 

  1. The NeverEnding Story (1984) – Why did they stop making these films? I feel as though my childhood needs refunded or the title changed. The first one was great, the second barely memorable, and beyond that, I cannot give an honest critique as my desire to continue the saga came to a paradoxical end.

 

  1. Big (1988) – Though not really one of my favorite childhood films, I feel like I would be doing an injustice to Tom Hanks specifically and to society as a whole if I failed to add this to the list… and that’s all I have to say about that.

 

  1. The Shawshank Redemption (1994) – One of the few titles submitted by yours truly which corresponds with the legitimate lists out there, this movie is a must see. Though some scenes are at times a bit too much for children, the drama, character development, and remarkable plot twists will keep you on the edge of your seat.

 

The Top Ten

I am still unable to vouch for a reasonable method of rank, but I will attempt to employ exemplary reviews for the remaining titles.

 

  1. Robin Hood: Men in Tights (1993) – Mel Brooks did a great job with this one, but I am ashamed of myself for not including “Blazing Saddles.” After all, “We don’t need no stinking badges.” Cary Elwes is as good as ever, and Dave Chappelle got to follow in the footsteps of Cleavon Little. If you find a part that really makes you laugh I recommend rewinding it to watch over and over again.

 

  1. A Beautiful Mind (2001) – Math has always been a difficult subject for me, still, this film attempted to convince me to be a mathematician. Attempted unsuccessfully, but with all the Academy Awards attached to it, one is forced to face math in all its beauty. A wonderful cast, a great director, and a decent soundtrack (James Horner)… watch this movie at least once.

 

  1. The Family Man (2000) – For all of you who were hoping to see “Family Guy” on this list, I am sorry to disappoint, but Nicolas Cage does not disappoint. Surrounded by a worthy supporting cast, this movie offers the comedy, drama, romance, and even an ounce of action as well as mystery that many look for in a movie. You might like it. If I had to rank it more systematically, it would be closer to #50 than #1.

 

  1. Little Big League (1994) – Sadly dwarfed by “Rookie of the Year” and especially, “The Sandlot,” this film is definitely my favorite childhood sports movie. I’m not going to waste your time reviewing this one, just watch it.

 

  1. Loaded Weapon 1 (1993) – Why they didn’t make a trilogy from this is beyond me. All of the elements were perfectly in place for an encore, and here we are in the middle of 2017 waiting patiently. This movie, a National Lampoon’s title, is exactly what you might expect, but funnier. I can’t wait, though I continue to do so, for the sequel.

 

  1. Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home (1986) – If you’re a Trekkie you might like it, if you aren’t a Trekkie, you also might like it. Whales in space and Starships in the ocean… all in the same movie… Need I say more?

 

  1. The Terminal (2004) – Zoe Saldana plays a Trekkie before she lands her role in “Star Trek,” Diego Luna plays a Trekkie before starring in “Rogue One,” and Tom Hanks is as good as ever. An interesting plot executed to near perfection. If you find yourself bored during the upcoming NFL season, do yourself a favor and watch this movie.

 

  1. Race the Sun (1996) – The very fact that more Halle Berry films are not on my list shows great self-control on my part. But apart from my adolescent crush, this movie is fun. Jim Belushi is a great supporting role, and somebody named Casey Affleck took on a strong role as well. Another one of those “underdogs overcoming the odds” kinda films.

 

  1. Top Secret (1984) – This movie was introduced to me about ten years ago by a co-worker at the time, and I am ever grateful that he took the time to place it into my hands. If you like to see puns in action, and you love slapstick comedy, watch this… watch it twice. Then, just for fun, watch it again, you’ll get a good laugh out of it.

 

  1. Pride and Prejudice (2005) – One can only guess how many enemies I am bound to collect once word gets out that I have ranked Matthew Macfadyen’s Mr. Darcy superior to that of Colin Firth. Alas, I am sure this list has already garnered sufficient enemies to demand a recount. Nevertheless, this is my number one, and Matthew Macfadyen played no small role in that decision. His chemistry with Keira Knightley (Elizabeth Bennet) is sublime. The instrumental soundtrack is worth humming all day and whistling while one works. The cinematography is brilliant, and the supporting cast owns their respective characters. Taking a back seat for Best Picture to “Crash” at the 2005 Academy Awards, this movie is worth watching at least once, as I have seen it at least twice… and note that “Crash,” though I did watch it, is not even on my list.

 

*Special note: It is interesting enough to point out that I became a better reader, and subsequently a better writer after reading Jane Austen. It would be unfair of me as a blogger and avid reader to give the number one spot to any other film.

Now, it’s your turn… What movies did I miss? Which ones are out of place, and why?

Please share your thoughts, and as for the list, You’re very welcome!

2 thoughts on “Top 50 Movies?

Leave a comment